AIS Lifetime Achievement Award
The AIS Lifetime Achievement Award honors a lifetime of exceptional scholarship and academic achievement in the field of Israel Studies. The award recognizes a senior scholar whose lasting and path-breaking contributions have significantly shaped the field.

AIS Early Career Award
The AIS Early Career Award recognizes an exceptional scholar who has made significant contributions to the field of Israel Studies.

Yonathan Shapiro Award for Best Book in Israel Studies
The Shapiro Prize is given for the best book in Israel Studies published during the last calendar year. This award honors the memory of Yonathan Shapiro (1929-1997), one of Israel’s most distinguished and influential sociologists, by recognizing outstanding scholarship in the history, politics, society, law, economics, state, and culture of Israel and also pre-1948 the Jewish community in Palestine.

Ben Halpern Award for Best Dissertation in Israel Studies
The Ben Halpern Prize for the best doctoral dissertation in the various fields of Israel Studies approved during the last calendar year, honors the memory of Ben Halpern (1912-1990), a founding member of the Board of Directors of the Association for Israel Studies. His book, The Idea of the Jewish State, is still seminal in the study of Zionism.

Baruch Kimmerling Prize for Best Graduate Paper
The Kimmerling Prize is given for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the last AIS annual meeting. This award honors the memory of Baruch Kimmerling (1939-2007), a leading public intellectual and sociologist in Israel. He wrote, published and edited more than a dozen books on Israel and the Palestinians, introducing new perspectives for the understanding of Israeli society.

Annual Meeting