The Association for Israel Studies annually awards the Shapiro Prize for the best book in Israel Studies published during the last calendar year. This award honors the memory of Yonathan Shapiro (1929-1997), one of Israel’s most distinguished and influential sociologists. The award pays tribute to outstanding scholarship in the history, politics, society, law, economics, state, and culture of Israel and also the pre-1948 Jewish community in Palestine. 

The Shapiro Award Committee will consider books in either English or Hebrew, published in 2023 by AIS members (newly registered or renewed membership for 2024). Research monographs (but not a collection of articles), are eligible for the prize. Books translated from Hebrew into English and vice versa–if the original book was published prior to 2023–are not eligible, but those books first printed in other languages and then made available in 2023 in English or Hebrew can be submitted. Those wishing to submit books translated from other languages should consult the committee chair to determine eligibility. Nominations can be made by individual scholars or by publishers.

The decision of the Shapiro Prize Committee will be published, with its reasoning, on the pages of the Association’s journal, The Israel Studies Review. 

The prize awarded is $3,000.

Deadline for submissions: TBU 

Those submitting books for consideration should send a copy to each of the five members of the committee.

Lihi Ben-Shitrit (Committee Chair),

Oded Haklai,

Kimmy Caplan,

Moshe Maoz,

Hanna Yablonka,


2024 (for books published in 2023):

  • Shay RabineauWalking the land: A history of Israeli hiking trails. (Indiana University Press, 2023)
  • Viola Alianov-RautenbergNo Longer Ladies and Gentlemen: Gender and the German-Jewish Migration to Mandatory Palestine. (Stanford University Press, 2023)

2023 (for books published in 2022):

  • Giora Goodman and Tony ShawHollywood and Israel: A History (Columbia University Press)

The book awarded an “Honorable Mention” as short-listed for final consideration is:

  • Noa Hazan, Visual Syntax of Race: Arab-Jews in Zionist Visual Culture (University of Michigan Press)

2022 (for books published in 2021): 

  • Gali Druker Bar-AmI am Your Dust – Representations of the Israeli Experience in Israeli Yiddish Prose 1948-1967 (Yad Izhak Ben-Zvi)

The book awarded an “Honorable Mention” as short-listed for final consideration is:

  • Anat SternCombatants on Trial: Military Jurisdicition in Israel during the 1948 War (Yad Izhak Ben-Zvi)

2021 (for books published in 2020): 

  • Paula Kabalo, Israeli Communities in Action: Living Through the War of Independence (Indiana University Press, 2020) 

2020 (for books published in 2019): 

  • Sarah WillenFighting For Dignity: Migrant Lives at Israel’s Margins (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2020)

The book awarded an “Honorable Mention” as short-listed for final consideration is:

  • Steven Wagner, Statecraft by Stealth: Secret Intelligence and British Rule in Palestine (Cornell University Press, 2019)

2019 (for books published in 2018): 

  • Diego RotmanThe Stage as a Temporary Home – On Dzigan and Shumacher’s Theater, 1927-1980 (Jerusalem, Magnes Press)

Books awarded an “Honorable Mention” as short-listed for final consideration are:

  • Charles FreilichIsraeli National Security: A New Strategy for an Era of Change (Oxford University Press, 2018)
  • Dmitry ShumskyBeyond the Nation-State: The Zionist Political Imagination from Pinsker to Ben-Gurion (Yale University Press, 2018)

2018 (for books published in 2017): 

  • Alona Nitzan-ShiftanSeizing Jerusalem: The Architectures of Unilateral Unification (University of Minnesota Press)
  • Kimmy Caplan, Amram Blau: The World of Neturei Karta (Yad Ben-Zvi and Ben-Gurion University Press – in Hebrew).

Books awarded an “Honorable Mention” as short-listed for final consideration are:

  • Yuval Jobani and Nahshon PerezWomen of the Wall: Navigating Religion in Sacred Sites (Oxford University Press)
  • Nir KedarBlue and White Law: Identity and Law in Israel: A Century-Long Polemic (Ben-Gurion University Press – in Hebrew)

2017 (for books published in 2016): 

  • Abigail Jacobson and Moshe NaorOriental Neighbors: Middle Eastern Jews and Arabs in Mandatory Palestine (Brandeis University Press)

Books awarded an “Honorable Mention” as short-listed for final consideration are:

  • Tamar S. HessSelf as Nation: Contemporary Hebrew Autobiography (Brandeis University Press)
  • Yoav MehozayBetween the Rule of Law and States of Emergency: The Fluid Jurisprudence of the Israeli Regime (SUNY Press) 
  • Noa RoeiCiivil Aesthetics: Militarism, Israeli Art and Visual Culture (Bloomsbury Academic)

2016 (for books published in 2015) Co-winners:

  • Tamir SorekPalestinian Commemoration in Israel: Calendars, Monuments and Martyrs (Stanford University Press)
  • Noam ZadoffFrom Berlin to Jerusalem and Back: Gershom Scholem between Israel and Germany, Jerusalem (Carmel Publishing House) (in Hebrew)

2015 (for books published in 2014):

  • Liora HalperinBabel in Zion: Jews, Nationalism, and Language Diversity in Palestine, 1920-1948 (Yale University Press, 2014)

2014 (for books published in 2013):

  • Guy Ben PoratBetween State and Synagogue: The Secularization of Contemporary Israel (Cambridge University Press, 2013)

2013 (for books published in 2012):

  • Irit KeynanLike a Hidden Wound: War Trauma in Israeli Society (Am Oved, 2012)
  • Yagil LevyIsrael’s Death Hierarchy: Casualty Aversion in a Militarized Democracy (New York University Press, 2012)

2012 (for books published in 2011):

  • Oded HaklaiPalestinian Ethnonationalism in Israel (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2011)

2011 (for books published in 2010):

  • Michelle U. CamposOttoman Brothers: Muslims, Christians, and Jews in Early Twentieth-Century Palestine (Stanford University Press, 2010)

2010 (for books published in 2009) Co-winners:

  • Michael FeigeSettling in the Hearts. Jewish Fundamentalism in the Occupied Territories (Wayne State University Press, 2009)
  • Nir KedarMamlakhtiyut. Hatefisah He’ezrahit shel David Ben-Gurion. (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev Press, 2009)

2009 (for books published in 2008) Co-winners:

  • Orit RozinDuty and Love; Individualism and Collectivism in 1950s Israel (Hebrew: Am Oved, 2008)
  • Menachem MautnerLaw and Culture in Israel at the Threshold of the Twenty First Century (Hebrew: Am Oved, 2008)

2008 (for books published in 2007) Co-winners:

  • Uri RamThe Globalization of Israel: McWorld in Tel Aviv ,Jihad in Jerusalem (Routledge)
  • Anat HelmanOr v’Yam Hekifuha: Urban Culture in 1920s and 1930s Tel

Aviv (Haifa University Press) (In Hebrew)

2007 (for books published in 2006) Co-Winners:

  • Aviva Halamish,  Be’merutz Kaful Neged Hazeman  [A Dual Race Against Time: Zionist Immigration Policy in the 1930s] (Yad Ben Zvi) 
  • Assaf LikhovskiLaw and Identity in Mandate Palestine (University of  Carolina Press)

2006 (for books published in 2004-2005, biannual award):

  • Orit KamirShe’ela shel Kavod: Yisraeli’ut U’khevod Ha’adam [Israeli Honor and Dignity: Social Norms, Gender Politics and the Law]. (Carmel Publishers, 2004)

2004 (for books published in 2002-2003, biannual award) Co-winners:

  • Yehouda Shenhav, Heyehudim Ha’araviim: Leumiut, Dat v’Etniut [The Arab Jews: Nationality, Religion, and Ethnicity]. (Am Oved, 2003)- Gad BarzilaiCommunities and Law: Politics and Cultures of Legal Identities (University of Michigan Press, 2003)