The AIS Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a senior scholar in any field of Israel Studies whose lasting and path-breaking contributions have significantly shaped the field. 

The prize awarded is $7,000.  

Candidates may be proposed by AIS members by sending a curriculum vitae of the candidate. The award committee may also propose potential candidates. Self-nominations are not allowed. The Committee encourages nominations that will reflect a diverse pool, including diversity of gender and gender identity, discipline, ethnicity, and national origin. The nominees must be members of the AIS. The committee will consider contributions of scholarship to Israel Studies, mentorship of others in Israel Studies, service to the field of Israel Studies, and development of Israel Studies institutions.


2024: Ilan Peleg (Lafayette College)

2023: Aviva Halamish (The Open University of Israel) and Ilan Troen (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Brandeis University)

2022: Hanna Herzog (Tel Aviv University) and Derek Penslar (Harvard University)

2021: Prof. Emeritus Benny Morris (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev)

2020: Yael Zerubavel (Rutgers University)

2017: Alan Dowty (University of Notre Dame) and Pnina Lahav (Boston University) 

2016: Anita Shapira (Tel-Aviv University)

2015: Itzhak Galnoor (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

2014: Yosef Gorny (Tel Aviv University)2013: Myron Aronoff (Rutgers: The State University of New Jersey)