Best Book Award

Shapiro Award for Best Book in Israel Studies

The Association for Israel Studies annually awards the Shapiro Prize for the best book in Israel Studies published during the last calendar year. This award honors the memory of Yonathan Shapiro (1929-1997), one of Israel’s most distinguished and influential sociologists. The award pays tribute to outstanding scholarship in the history, politics, society, law, economics, state, and culture of Israel and also the pre-1948 Jewish community in Palestine. 

Details about next year’s awards are yet to be announced. 


2022 (for books published in 2021): 

Gali Druker Bar-Am, I am Your Dust – Representations of the Israeli Experience in Israeli Yiddish Prose 1948-1967 (Yad Izhak Ben-Zvi)

The book awarded an “Honorable Mention” as short-listed for final consideration is:

Anat Stern, Combatants on Trial: Military Jurisdicition in Israel during the 1948 War (Yad Izhak Ben-Zvi)

2021 (for books published in 2020): 

Paula Kabalo, Israeli Communities in Action: Living Through the War of Independence (Indiana University Press, 2020) 

2020 (for books published in 2019): 

Sarah Willen, Fighting For Dignity: Migrant Lives at Israel’s Margins (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2020)

The book awarded an “Honorable Mention” as short-listed for final consideration is:

Steven Wagner, Statecraft by Stealth: Secret Intelligence and British Rule in Palestine (Cornell University Press, 2019)

2019 (for books published in 2018): 

Diego Rotman, The Stage as a Temporary Home – On Dzigan and Shumacher’s Theater, 1927-1980 (Jerusalem, Magnes Press)

Books awarded an “Honorable Mention” as short-listed for final consideration are:

Charles Freilich, Israeli National Security: A New Strategy for an Era of Change (Oxford University Press, 2018)

Dmitry Shumsky, Beyond the Nation-State: The Zionist Political Imagination from Pinsker to Ben-Gurion (Yale University Press, 2018)

2018 (for books published in 2017): 

Alona Nitzan-Shiftan, Seizing Jerusalem: The Architectures of Unilateral Unification (University of Minnesota Press)

Kimmy Caplan, Amram Blau: The World of Neturei Karta (Yad Ben-Zvi and Ben-Gurion University Press – in Hebrew).

Books awarded an “Honorable Mention” as short-listed for final consideration are:

Yuval Jobani and Nahshon Perez, Women of the Wall: Navigating Religion in Sacred Sites (Oxford University Press)

Nir Kedar, Blue and White Law: Identity and Law in Israel: A Century-Long Polemic (Ben-Gurion University Press – in Hebrew)

2017 (for books published in 2016): 

Abigail Jacobson and Moshe Naor, Oriental Neighbors: Middle Eastern Jews and Arabs in Mandatory Palestine (Brandeis University Press)

Books awarded an “Honorable Mention” as short-listed for final consideration are:

Tamar S. Hess, Self as Nation: Contemporary Hebrew Autobiography (Brandeis University Press)

Yoav Mehozay, Between the Rule of Law and States of Emergency: The Fluid Jurisprudence of the Israeli Regime (SUNY Press) 

Noa Roei, Ciivil Aesthetics: Militarism, Israeli Art and Visual Culture (Bloomsbury Academic)

2016 (for books published in 2015) Co-winners:

Tamir Sorek, Palestinian Commemoration in Israel: Calendars, Monuments and Martyrs (Stanford University Press)

Noam Zadoff, From Berlin to Jerusalem and Back: Gershom Scholem between Israel and Germany, Jerusalem (Carmel Publishing House) (in Hebrew)

2015 (for books published in 2014):

Liora Halperin, Babel in Zion: Jews, Nationalism, and Language Diversity in Palestine, 1920-1948 (Yale University Press, 2014)

2014 (for books published in 2013):

Guy Ben Porat, Between State and Synagogue: The Secularization of Contemporary Israel (Cambridge University Press, 2013)

2013 (for books published in 2012):

Irit Keynan, Like a Hidden Wound: War Trauma in Israeli Society (Am Oved, 2012)

Yagil Levy, Israel’s Death Hierarchy: Casualty Aversion in a Militarized Democracy (New York University Press, 2012)

2012 (for books published in 2011):

Oded Haklai, Palestinian Ethnonationalism in Israel (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2011)

2011 (for books published in 2010):

Michelle U. Campos, Ottoman Brothers: Muslims, Christians, and Jews in Early Twentieth-Century Palestine (Stanford University Press, 2010)

2010 (for books published in 2009) Co-winners:

Michael Feige, Settling in the Hearts. Jewish Fundamentalism in the Occupied Territories (Wayne State University Press, 2009)

Nir Kedar, Mamlakhtiyut. Hatefisah He’ezrahit shel David Ben-Gurion. (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev Press, 2009)

2009 (for books published in 2008) Co-winners:

Orit Rozin, Duty and Love; Individualism and Collectivism in 1950s Israel (Hebrew: Am Oved, 2008)

Menachem Mautner, Law and Culture in Israel at the Threshold of the Twenty First Century (Hebrew: Am Oved, 2008)

2008 (for books published in 2007) Co-winners:

Uri Ram, The Globalization of Israel: McWorld in Tel Aviv ,Jihad in Jerusalem (Routledge)

Anat Helman, Or v’Yam Hekifuha: Urban Culture in 1920s and 1930s Tel

Aviv (Haifa University Press) (In Hebrew)

2007 (for books published in 2006) Co-Winners:

Aviva HalamishBe’merutz Kaful Neged Hazeman  [A Dual Race Against Time: Zionist Immigration Policy in the 1930s] (Yad Ben Zvi) 

Assaf Likhovski, Law and Identity in Mandate Palestine (University of  Carolina Press)

2006 (for books published in 2004-2005, biannual award):

Orit Kamir, She’ela shel Kavod: Yisraeli’ut U’khevod Ha’adam [Israeli Honor and Dignity: Social Norms, Gender Politics and the Law]. (Carmel Publishers, 2004)

2004 (for books published in 2002-2003, biannual award) Co-winners:

Yehouda Shenhav, Heyehudim Ha’araviim: Leumiut, Dat v’Etniut [The Arab Jews: Nationality, Religion, and Ethnicity]. (Am Oved, 2003)- Gad Barzilai, Communities and Law: Politics and Cultures of Legal Identities (University of Michigan Press, 2003)