39th Annual Conference of the Association for Israel Studies

The Taub Center for Israel Studies, New York University

June 26 - 28, 2023

2023 Program Booklet

Please contact if you have any questions.


Women's Caucus Co-Chairs:

Viola Alianov-Rautenberg and Sharon Yavo Ayalon |


The Program Committee of the 39th annual conference of the Association for Israel Studies invites scholars from around the world conducting research on any aspect of Israel Studies to submit proposals for organized panels and individual papers. Of special interest are proposals relating to the conference theme — Israel at 75: Archives, History and Society.

The Conference will be hosted by the Taub Center for Israel Studies at New York University, and will take place from Monday, June 26 to Wednesday, June 28, 2023, at the Washington Square, New York campus.

The conference aims to bring together international scholars from any discipline relevant to Israel Studies – including, but not limited to, Anthropology, Arts (music, visual, performance, film, etc.), Conflict Resolution, Disability Studies, Economics and Business, Education, Geography and Environment, History, International Relations, Language and Literature, Law, Media and Communication, Philosophy and Thought, Politics, and Sociology. We particularly welcome papers and panels that focus on the social, cultural, and political challenges facing Israel as it marks its 75th year, as well as changing perspectives in Israeli history and the challenges of preserving and accessing the historical record.

Program Committee

Program Committee Co-chairs: Ronald W. Zweig and Avi Shilon

Anthropology and Sociology

Virginia Rosa Dominguez, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Iddo Tavory, New York University

Nissim Leon, Bar-Ilan University


Arab and Palestinian Society in Israel

Rami Zeedan, University of Kansas

Mustafa Abbasi, Tel Hai College

Sami Miaari, Tel Aviv University


Archives and Freedom of Information

Ronald W. Zweig, New York University

Yaacov Lozowick, Israel National Archive (Emeritus)


Disability Studies

Michal Soffer, University of Haifa

Hannah Zaves-Greene, Sarah Lawrence College


Economics, Business, and Entrepreneurship

Arie Krampf, Academic College of Tel Aviv-Jaffa



Tali Tadmor-Shimony, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Dina Roginsky, Yale University



Bat-Zion Klorman-Eraqi, The Open University of Israel

Brian Roby, University of Michigan

Merav Alush-Levron, Tel Aviv University


Geography and Environment

Nir Cohen, Bar-Ilan University

Tamar Novick, Max Planck Institute for the History of Science


History of Zionism

Yitzhak Conforti, Bar-Ilan University

Rona Yona, Tel Aviv University

David Engel, New York University (emeritus)


History of the Yishuv

Ronald W. Zweig, New York University

Nimrod Lin, Heidelberg Center for Jewish Studies

Aviva Halamish, The Open University of Israel


History of the State of Israel

Orit Rozin, Tel Aviv University

Meir Chazan, Tel Aviv University


International Relations and Conflict Resolution

Yael S. Aronoff, Michigan State University

Lior Lehrs, Hebrew University of Jerusalem


Israel in/and the Jewish World

Donna Robinson Divine, Smith College

Hizky Shoham, Bar-Ilan University

Zohar Segev, Haifa University


Israel in/and the Arab World

Ami Pedahzur, The University of Texas

Zvi Ben-Dor Benite, New York University

Elie Podeh, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem


Language and Literature

Benny Hary, New York University

Roni Henig, New York University

Ilana Szobel, Brandeis University



Lisa Fishbayn Joffe, Brandeis University

Ahmad Amara, NYU Tel Aviv

Karin Loevy, New York University


Media and Communication

Nissim Katz, Kinneret College

Yoram Peri, University of Maryland


Music, Visual, and Performing Arts

Shiri Goren, Yale University

Olga Gershenson, University of Massachusetts Amherst


Philosophy and Religious Thought

Motti Inbari, The University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Tomer Persico, Hartman Institute / University of California, Berkeley



Elisheva Rosman-Stollman, Bar-Ilan University

Csaba Nikolenyi, Concordia University

Avi Shilon, New York University / Tel Hai College



Erez Maggor, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Yair Sheleg, Shalom Hartman Institute


Women, Gender and Sexualities

Lilach Rosenberg-Friedman, Bar-Ilan University

Gilly Hartal, Bar-Ilan University

Matan Boord, Bar-Ilan University 


The 2022 Conference Team:

Annual Meeting